The names of the jury members of the XVIII Kazan International Film Festival have become known
Back to the list

The names of the jury members of the XVIII Kazan International Film Festival have become known

28 July 2022

The list of the jury members of the XVIII Kazan International Muslim Film Festival has been published. The Chairman of the committee will be Honored Artist of Russia and National Artist of Russia Vladimir Khotinenko.

“We are sure that Vladimir Khotinenko understands the ideology of the Kazan film festival well. In his film “The Muslim”, perhaps, for the first time in the history of Russian cinematography the themes of Islam and religious tolerance were touched upon. Especially we should keep this in mind at the 1100th anniversary of the adoption of Islam by Volga Bulgaria”, noted the Executive director of the Kazan Muslim Film Festival, Honored Artist of the Republic of Tatarstan Miliausha Aituganova.

The remarkable fact is that restored version of the film “Muslim” will be presented within non-competition program of the festival and Vladimir Khotinenko is ready to communicate with the audience after watching the film.

By the way, the debut of Vladimir Khotinenko as a production designer was the adventure film “Alone and without weapons” made in 1984. Just three years later, with the film “A mirror for the hero” Vladimir Khotinenko showed himself as a promising director. His subsequent works established him as one of the leading masters in cinema. The special love of the audience and authority among colleagues were won by “Makarov” film (1993), the revived TV series “The Investigation is conducted by Experts” (2001), “The fall of the empire” (2005) etc. Nowadays the famous director deepens more in the history of the Motherland, trying to understand the reasons for the current changes.

Besides, film director and film experts from other countries will join the jury members. Thus, the commission will be joined by writer, film director, film critic Hamid Benamra (Algeria, France), director and producer Anara Kashaganova (Kazakhstan), director, producer Amer Salmeen Al’ Murri (UAE), documentary film director, winner of the international film festivals Narges Abyar (Iran), director, winner of many prizes at festivals in India and other countries Haobam Paban Kumar (India), famous film critic, film expert, jury member of a numerous film festival Ihsan Kabil’ (Turkey) and director, actress, producer Elham Shahin (Egypt).

Russia will also be presented in the jury of the festival by the famous film expert, historian of cinema, Doctor of Arts, documentary film director Valery Fomin. On behalf of the Republic of Tatarstan the rector of the RIU (Russian Islamic University) Rafik Mukhametshin will work in the jury.

We remind you that this year 625 applications from 44 countries of the world were registered. The Selection Committee has already made a shortlist of works, among which the jury members are to choose the winners.

The XVIII Kazan International Muslim Film Festival will be held in Kazan from September 7 to 11 with the support of the President of the Republic of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov, the Ministry of Culture of Russia and in partnership with the strategic vision group “Russia – Islamic world”.